Mamba bite man the third victim in a month

The man who was bitten by a green mamba on Tuesday was the third person to be bitten by a mamba in KwaZulu-Natal this month, according to Netcare911.

Thomas Ncube, 40, of Groutville, and three friends were going fishing when he was bitten by what is believed to be a green mamba at Tinley Manor on Tuesday morning.

“I was on my way to the beach and decided to take a shortcut using a narrow pathway through the grass. I didn’t see the snake at first, but then I felt a sharp pain and I saw the snake had bitten me on my knee,” Ncube told the Natal Mercury from his Stanger Hospital bed.

Ncube said his friends began screaming and ran off.

“The snake bit me again. I jumped and it let go, but moved forward and bit me again,” he said.

Ncube ran to a nearby road for help and stood there for a while before realising that nobody would stop. He walked to a nearby hostel but was unable to find help there either.

Ncube began frothing at the mouth, the men drove him to Shakaskraal Clinic. “The clinic didn’t have anti-venom to treat me, so the men took me a private doctor, who also did not have any.”

Read full story HERE.

About Candace M Hansen

Wildlife advocate, conservationist and environmentalist.
This entry was posted in Snakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

